

PUBLIC NOTICE: PAYMENT OF ALLOWANCES TO COUNCILLORS

Local Authorities (Members Allowances) (England) Regulations 2003

In accordance with the above requirements of the above Regulations, details of the total sums paid by Worcestershire County Council in 2013/2014 in respect of the following allowances, namely Basic, Special Responsibility, Dependent Carers, Travel and Subsistence and the Councillor ICT Scheme are detailed below.

For ease of reference, those allowances paid have been grouped into the following categories:

- Councillors who were re-elected following the 2013 elections (or following a by-election)
- Councillors who were newly elected following the 2013 elections (or following a by-election)
- Councillors who did not stand for re-election or were not elected following the 2013 elections

Name	Basic Allowance £	Special Responsibility Allowance £	Dependant Carers Allowance £	Travel/ Subsistence £	Councillor ICT Scheme £	Total £			
Existing Councillors who were re-elected following the 2013 elections (or following a by-election)									
Mr R C Adams	9,019.80	10,375.77		121.60		19,517.17			
Mr A T Amos	9,019.80			144.80		9,164.60			
Mrs S Askin	9,019.80	968.25				9,988.05			
Mr R W Banks	9,019.80	9,316.17		640.00		18,975.97			
Mr A N Blagg	9,019.80	15,790.09			374.99	25,184.88			
Mrs S L Blagg	9,019.80	14,148.99		2,206.00		25,374.79			
Mr M H Broomfield	9,019.80			345.96		9,365.76			
Mr J P Campion	9,019.80	15,790.09		1,576.35		26,386.24			
Mr S J M Clee	9,019.80			454.40		9,474.20			
Mrs P E Davey	9,019.80	2763.47		169.60		11,952.87			
Mr N J Desmond*1	6,813.34			320.80		7,134.14			
Mrs L R Duffy	9,019.80	8347.92		208.00		17,575.72			
Mrs E A Eyre	9,019.80	16,499.76		3,596.00		29,115.56			
Mr S E Geraghty	9,019.80	15,790.09		,		24,809.89			
Mr W P Gretton	9,019.80	8347.93		480.60		17,848.33			
Mrs J M Griffiths	9,019.80			684.40		9,704.20			
Mr A I Hardman	9,019.80	31,074.48		2,450.73		42,545.01			
Mr M Hart	9,019.80	15,790.09		1,497.10		26,306.99			
Mrs A T Hingley	9,019.80			496.00		9,515.80			
Mrs L C Hodgson	9,019.80	14,148.99		734.00		23,902.79			
Mr C G Holt	9,019.80	968.25				9,988.05			
Mr P M McDonald	9,019.80	8845.13		819.90		18,984.11			
Mr A P Miller	9,019.80			288.40		9,308.20			
Mrs F M Oborski	9,019.80			164.80	659.99	9,844.59			
Mr J W Parish	9,019.80	8,531.10		470.70		18,021.60			
Mr S R Peters	9,019.80			960.80		9,980.60			
Dr K A Pollock	9,019.80	9,316.17		1,127.40		19,463.37			
Mr D W Prodger	9,019.80					9,019.80			
Mr A C Roberts	9,019.80	9,316.17		93.20		18,429.17			
Mr J H Smith	9,019.80	15,790.09		1,366.30		26,176.19			
Mr C B Taylor	9,019.80	8,347.92		113.60		17,481.32			
Mr J W R Thomas*2	7,762.20			131.76		7,893.96			
Mrs E B Tucker	9,019.80	9734.88				18,754.68			
Mr R M Udall	9,019.80	14,148.99				23,168.79			
Mr T A L Wells	9,019.80	9989.02		348.00		19,356.82			
Mr G C Yarranton	9,019.80	12,664.48		928.40		22,612.68			

Name	Basic Allowance £	Special Responsibility Allowance £	Dependant Carers Allowance £	Travel/ Subsistence £	Councillor ICT Scheme £	Total £			
Councillors who were newly elected following the 2013 elections (or following a by-election)									
Mr A A J Adams	8,195.41			252.00		8,447.41			
Ms P Agar	8,195.41					8,195.41			
Mr A K Baker*3	756.50					756.50			
Mr J Baker	8,195.41			136.00		8,331.41			
Mr M L Bayliss	8,195.41					8,195.41			
Mr C J Bloore	8,195.41	8,347.92				16,543.33			
Mr S C Cross	8,195.41					8,195.41			
Mr P Denham	8,195.41					8,195.41			
Mr A Fry	8,195.41					8,195.41			
Mr P Grove	8,195.41			1,908.02		10,103.43			
Ms P A Hill	8,195.41			585.60		8,781.01			
Mr I Hopwood	8,195.41			338.00		8,533.41			
Mr M E Jenkins	8,195.41					8,195.41			
Mr M S Jenkins	8,195.41					8,195.41			
Ms R E Jenkins	8,195.41			346.00	1,000	9,541.41			
Mr E U Kitson*4	290.96					290.96			
Mr R C Lunn	8,195.41			369.20		8,564.61			
Mr L C R Mallett	8,195.41			106.00		8,301.41			
Prof J W Raine	8,098.42			171.24		8,269.66			
Ms M A Rayner	8,195.41			327.60		8,523.01			
Mr R J Sutton	8,195.41			342.00		8,537.41			
Mr P A Tuthill	8,195.41			324.84		8,520.25			
Mr G J Vickery	8,195.41			589.76		8,785.17			
Councillors who did not stand or were not re-elected following the 2013 elections									
Mr M Ahmed	897.13					897.13			
Mr T J Bean	897.13					897.13			
Mr S Brown	897.13					897.13			
Mrs J Brunner	897.13	968.25				1,865.38			
Mrs M C Bunker	897.13	968.25		151.92		2,017.30			
Mr J M Cairns	897.13					897.13			
Mr B F Clayton	897.13			55.20		952.33			
Mr A E Davies	897.13	968.25		84.80		1,950.18			
Mr A Ditta	897.13					897.13			
Mrs M L Drinkwater	897.13					897.13			
Mr B P Gandy	897.13	968.25		72.00		1,937.38			
Mrs G F L Hopkins	897.13			39.24		936.37			
Mrs E K Moffett	897.13					897.13			
Mr W E Moore	897.13			121.68		1,018.81			
Mrs P J M Morgan	897.13					897.13			
Mrs B A Nielsen	897.13					897.13			
Mrs J A Potter	897.13	1,641.10		138.00		2,676.23			
Mr C T Smith	897.13					897.13			
Mr T A Spencer	897.13			64.80		961.93			
Mr D F O Thain	897.13	1,641.10		263.25		2,801.48			
TOTAL	512,245.42	302307.41		29726.75	2334.26	846,613.84			

Explanatory Notes

- *1 elected following a by-election on 1st August 2013
- *2 elected following a by-election on 27th June 2013
- *3 died in office 6th June 2013
- *4 resigned on 15th May 2013

Basic Allowance

All Councillors receive a Basic Allowance which is intended to recognise the time devoted by Councillors to their work, including such inevitable calls on their time as meetings (whether Council meetings or meetings with constituents and political group meetings). This allowance is also intended to cover other incidental costs incurred including:-

- Use of home
- Use of telephone (including the cost of mobile phones and other handheld devices of a similar nature)
- Costs associated with member surgeries and other public events (including room hire) which are not facilitated by the County Council.

The Basic Allowance also includes £505p.a which is paid to Councillors to fund connection to the internet and the purchase of ICT consumables.

Special Responsibility Allowance

In addition, a Special Responsibility Allowance is also payable to some members who hold positions of responsibility within the Council. The Chairman and Vice-Chairman of Council receive an allowance to reflect the civic work they undertake and the other positions attracted Special Responsibility Allowance payments during 2013/14 were:-

Band Position

One Leader of the Council

Two Cabinet Members with Responsibility

Chairman of the Overview and Scrutiny Performance Board

Three Leader of the Labour Group

Leader of the 2013 Group

Leader of the Independent Alliance Group

Lead Scrutiny Members (including Scrutiny Panel Chairmen)

Chairman of the Planning and Regulatory Committee Chairman of the Audit and Governance Committee

Dependent Carers Allowance

Councillors are entitled to receive a dependent carers allowance which is designed to recompense those Councillors who incur expenditure for the care of children or other dependents whilst undertaking official council duties.

Travel/Subsistence

Councillors are entitled to receive travel and subsistence allowances where they necessarily incur expenditure on travel and subsistence undertaking official Council business. Subsistence allowances can only be claimed for approved duties out of the county. All expenses claims are also available to view online.

Councillor ICT Allowance

A sum is available over the four year life of the Council to Councillors' to support ICT hardware arrangements.

A copy of the Council's Allowances Scheme which governs the allowance arrangements for Councillors and provides more detailed information can be accessed via www.worcestershire.gov.uk